Malaysia entry requirement

For guests who are planning to visit Malaysia, please adhere to the following terms that are relevant to your country which have been set by the Department of Immigration Malaysia.

1. West Malaysia entry requirements

Countries requiring 100% visa (e.g.: Visa label , Visa prior to arrival)
  • Afghanistan
  • Angola
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Cote D’Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea Bissau
  • India
  • Israel
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Montenegro
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Republic of Niger
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • Sri Lanka

2. Transit Without Visa (TWOV)

Transit Without Visa (TWOV) is only applicable after clearing Malaysian Immigration – for a maximum of 120 hours stop-over in Malaysia.

Countries eligible for Transit Without Visa
Indian Subcontinent Other Countries
  • Sri Lanka
  • India
  • Pakistan
  • Bangladesh
(Diplomatic & Official Passports only)
  • Bhutan
  • China
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Vietnam
Eligibility Eligibility
  • Onward ticket must be within 120 hours.
  • Onward ticket must be within 120 hours.
  • Must arrive and depart only via the same airport. (E.g. Arrive in LCCT, Depart from LCCT)
  • Guest(s) may arrive & depart via AirAsia/other airline and connect/depart via said airlines; as long as flights departing the country depart from the same entry point.
  • Posses a valid onward ticket and carry a Single Entry Visa (SEV) or Multiple Entry Visa (MEV) issued from/and are heading to any one (1) of the seven (7) countries listed below:
    1. Australia
    2. New Zealand
    3. United States of America (USA)
    4. Japan
    5. China
    6. Taiwan
    7. South Korea
    *TWOV will not be issued if next country of destination is not listed as above.
  • Must hold confirmed onward ticket to a 3rd/next country.
  • Passport MUST have a minimum validity of 6 months.
  • Passport MUST have a minimum validity of 6 months.
  • A PRINTED copy of itinerary and original tickets MUST be produced. Producing a PNR/booking number only, will be denied access.
  • A PRINTED copy of itinerary and original tickets MUST be produced. Producing a PNR/booking number only, will be denied access.
  • Hold a valid long-term pass* of a 3rd country.

Granting of TWOV is solely at the discretion of the Malaysia Immigration; even if guest(s) meet all the required criteria above.

* Note: The definition of a long-term pass of a 3rd country is employment/work permit, expatriate card, student pass or permanent resident card. It is worth noting that a permanent multiple entry visa (MEV) above does not fall under this category and as such, NOT PERMITTED.

3. Taiwan nationals

Please be advised that effective 12 April 2011 Taiwan passport holders are given a 15 day exemption for visa at all entry points in Malaysia.
Please note that they must meet the entry requirements for Malaysia.

4. Malaysia entry requirement for People’s Republic of China (PRC) nationals

Please be advised that all People’s Republic of China (PRC) nationals departing from any mainland China ports to Malaysia MUST hold a confirmed return ticket and sufficient funds.
Failure to comply with the Department of Immigration Malaysia’s entry requirements will be denied access to step aboard.

5. Foreign Workers

Effective 6 January 2011, all foreign workers who have been granted the Visa Pass Temporary Employment (VPTE) must also obtain the Visa With Reference (VDR) from the Malaysian Embassy or the High Commission of Malaysia before entering Malaysia.
Entry to Malaysia will be refused if these requirements are not met, as it will be classified as Prohibited Immigration and returned to country of origin.

6. Visa on arrival (VOA) will no longer be issued in Malaysia except for nationals of People’s Republic of China and India.

Effective 1 January 2014, AirAsia and AirAsia X would like to inform our guests that the Malaysian Immigration Department will not be issuing Visa on Arrival (VOA), except for the following nationals provided that they meet the following criteria below:

Countries eligible for Visa on Arrival (VOA):

  • People’s Republic of China
  • India


  • Nationals of eligible countries arriving from Thailand or Singapore with a valid visa from their respective countries
  • Arrival must be through these entry points: Kuala Lumpur, Penang, Johor Bahru, Kota Kinabalu and Kuching
  • Priorities will be given to families, groups, business travellers, and labourers
  • Possess a confirmed return flight and funds of at least USD100

*Note: Issuance of VOA will cost MYR330 (USD 100) and will be valid for 7 days.